Experiment in Self – Care! :)

selfcare

Image Credit: Sweatpants & Coffee Nanea Hoffman

The last couple of weeks have been incredibly stressful.  We got through the property inspections ok and then last week, we learned that our porch roof at home blew off  ( eeer peeled back )  in last weekend’s storms down near the Tampa area.

Thank God our neighbors keep an eye on the house.

And then, the stress started all over again.

My husband, lets say, IS VERY stubborn and likes to do things his own way  ( not always the right way)  and in his own time. His way is the only way.  And he is amped up most of the time.  He flies by the seat of his pants a lot without really thinking things through which usually adds to the workload.  BUT he doesn’t much like taking advice.

He is the type who likes to hear himself jingle.   When he walks across a room.  His keys hanging from a belt loop almost 24 hours a day or it seems.  He likes to look busy when he is actually not. And often full of excuses.

This weekend was no exception.

Ok, so  when we realized we had a problem last week , ‘we’ formulated a plan to at least get him down there to assess the damage. He was certain that he could go down in an afternoon and resolve the issue. I knew better but it’s generally easier just to support him the best I can  and let it go.

I had already decided to make the best of my time alone.

So I worked his shift in the office yesterday.   And waited for his updates.

At 4 o-clock yesterday afternoon, just as I was closing, he called to say, he would probably have to spend the night and finish the job in the morning.

I was thinking  “I told ya so”  but  let him  finish his sentence.  Well sentences BUT oddly I knew what he was going to say before he said it.

He told me he would call again after he ran out of daylight.    When he didn’t call, I called him three separate times only to get the answering machine.  I started getting worried.  He finally called and said that he was next door having coffee  with the neighbor and had forgotten the phone.

Oh well, I said.  ‘Glad you are ok.’

Then I urged him to get something to eat, and hoped he would be warm enough as there was NO blankets left at the house.

And then I went on about my evening.  Had a bowl of soup, drank a couple of glasses of wine, watched what I wanted on TV.  It was GLORIOUS!

I went to bed and slept like a baby WHICH is rare.

Woke this morning , took the dog out for her walk.  And made my first cup of coffee.

He called this morning to say that he was on his way to  the store to get some 2 x 4s he needed for the framing . That he would get some breakfast on the way, and OH BY THE WAY, it rained off and on all night.  But I’ve got to get it done.

Yes Dear, that was the purpose of going.

So this morning, I did a load of laundry, baked some chicken, checked Facebook  and just puttering around the house.

Did I mention that I absolutely love the peace and quiet? 🙂

It kinda scares me to think about how much I actually do like my time alone.

Image Credit:  Sweatpants & Coffee Nanea Hoffman

About Shei1Says

Middle-aged wife, mom, grandmother of six. I work all the time in property management . Hubby and I share a home with a small dog and two rescued cats. Aside from that, I am a serial blogger, hopeless humaniac, full time life student, part time crusader and hellian when need be.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

