All or Nothing vs One Small Change?!?!

joggingWho else struggles with these opposing mentalities?

Both make perfect sense. Depends on the individual, I suppose.

Personally, I have always been the ‘all or nothing’ kind of lady, especially when it comes to weight loss and fitness.  Which is why I can revel in the short term success. Long term is another story altogether. You see,  I am also an imperfect perfectionist .which can lead to burn-out and ultimately disappointment.  Something, I have managed to prove again and again.

Back in the day, I could go back on program ( that’s what I call it )  and lose three pounds a week consistently, for months.  I was a master at before and after. A favorite at Weight Watchers meetings because I was proof positive that their program worked .

But honestly, it never lasted. All I had to do is get distracted by something else that life throws at me,  OR  hit a rough patch (whatever it may be) , and WHAM, I was breakneck in the other direction..

On the flip side, realistically I know that one small change is BETTER than nothing.  In fact, I managed to lose 20 lbs a few years ago by changing a few simple things  but the problem there is  I grow bored REALLY easily, and I have always needed INSTANT GRATIFICATION  to stay motivated. FACT!

Anyone else?

Recently, I reconnected with  an old friend who is a retired Naval officer. He is a highly disciplined individual and is 20 years into a second  successful career. He also  bikes on the weekend. I mean BIKES on the weekend and is in excellent shape.

Last night, I was reading his latest  FB post where he was speaking of this weekend’s adverse Florida weather and an upcoming road trip that he seemed excited about . He stated that he would be hanging up his  bike for a couple of weeks.  No he wasn’t happy about  it  but was cheerfully switching gears.

How does he do that?

I mean,  when I go after something in earnest, I can’t imagine being a weekender at anything. Let alone,  putting something on hold for a couple of weeks.

Well I honestly don’t know BUT I do know that he has been into extreme biking, as long as I  have known him which is like 17 years and probably long before that. I am also certain that he too has had his ups and downs in this life where he has struggled to find balance.

He had to start somewhere.

All I know, is that I am envious of this man ( and I hate that )  who manages to achieve and maintain so much in his life.

Perhaps, it isn’t about the end result after all, but the journey itself.

I think it is fair to say that he is mastering his journey.  And I have to find a way to master mine.

transformation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Shei1Says

Middle-aged wife, mom, grandmother of six. I work all the time in property management . Hubby and I share a home with a small dog and two rescued cats. Aside from that, I am a serial blogger, hopeless humaniac, full time life student, part time crusader and hellian when need be.
This entry was posted in Day-to-Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

